Matt Gurney: Any Tory MP who agrees with Rathgeber but stays silent is unfit to hold office

by Tyler Difley

National Post | Full Comment

[np_storybar title=”Brent Rathgeber: I barely recognize my party” link=”http://fullcomment.nationalpost.com/2013/06/06/brent-rathgeber-i-barely-recognize-my-party/”]Late last night I notified the Board of Directors of the Edmonton-St. Albert Conservative Association of my difficult decision that I was resigning from the Conservative Caucus to sit as an Independent in the House of Commons.

Clearly, the Government’s decision not to support my Private Member’s Bill on CBC and Public Sector disclosure and transparency in Committee was the proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back; however, this decision and my comfort level in caucus has been evolving for at least a year when I first spoke out against Ministerial opulence in a blog entitled “Of Orange Juice and Limos.”

Recent allegations concerning expense scandals and the Government’s response has been extremely troubling. I joined the Reform/conservative movements because I thought we were somehow different, a band of Ottawa outsiders riding into town to clean the place up, promoting open government…

View original post 922 more words

